

Christ Church Anglican 18th Annual Meeting January 30th, 2023, via Zoom

Members and attenders were welcomed by Patrick, Trish, Dean, and Amanda. We reached a quorum of 78 members; and Patrick asked for motion to call the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. Jerry Sabin motioned that we call the meeting to order. Emily Duensing seconded, and all were in favor.

Patrick said 2022 has been the best year in a long time. We were able to gather and worship. We had Life Groups, Spiritual Formation Classes, Mental Health Seminars, Alpha Groups, and more. We hired Jenny Behrens as our Office Manager, Katherine Corliss as our Christ Church Mission's Ministry Director, Cindy Hogya as our Service Planning Coordinator, Jacob Vangen as our Student Life Director, and Jason Veach as our Pastor for Spiritual Formation. He expressed how grateful he is to the congregation for their faith, generous giving, and willingness to stay connected. Now we are moving toward where we can return to our ministry, our congregations, our communities, and the world.

Patrick then turned it over to Dean, Lead Pastor at Mission, for his opening comments. Dean echoed Patrick's gratitude and shared that this has been a big year for Christ Church Mission. Attendance has been way up, and almost 100 kids on a weekend are attending our Children's Ministry program. Dean expressed his gratitude to the congregation.

Patrick concluded their comments with a prayer before moving on with the meeting. He then shared the state appointments for the meeting: Secretary Tricia Wolf, Parliamentarian Ed Bullard, and Dispatch of Business Trish Nelson.

Patrick spent some time thanking Ed for his service as our Chancellor, giving countless hours of his time over the last decade to serve in consulting on and handling all Christ Church's legal matters.

Ed Bullard was delayed in joining the Zoom call, so in Ed's place, the Parish Council Vice Chair Jerry Sabin, "Here presented are the Bylaws of Christ Church, adopted by the Parish Council on December 19, 2005, as amended on February 18, 2008, and as further amended January 23, 2011, and as further amended on January 29, 2012, as further amended January 24, 2016, and last amended March 18, 2021.

"As presented, these Bylaws will govern the 18th Christ Church Anglican Annual Meeting and we will loosely follow Roberts Rules of Order in so doing. Also presented at this meeting is a copy of the Articles of Incorporation as adopted under the laws of the state of Kansas on April 14, 2005. It should be noted that in the last amendment to the Bylaws, we voted to allow electronic balloting for our Parish Council and Endowment Trust Board elections and to allow our Annual Meeting to be conducted online."

Tricia Wolf then presented the Annual Meeting Minutes from 2022. These Minutes were approved by the Parish Council in February 2022 and were received on behalf of the parish by Patrick Wildman, Senior Pastor.

Patrick then introduced Matt Larsen, a retiring member of the Parish Council, to give the Parish Council Nominating Committee report. Matt started by thanking the Nominating Team: Matt Larsen, Lynette Bakker, Megan Lewis, Jerry Sabin, Tina Stubblefield, and Matt Theiss. The team gathered beginning in September to review nominations that came from our parish to fill five vacancies. Four terms were ending, and a vacancy was left by Dave Bergren when he moved to Des Moines this summer. Three PC members were eligible to run again: Emily Duensing, Steph Wagner, and Tricia Wolf. Additionally, Rocky Schroeder and Justin Miller were vetted in accordance with our Nominating Committee procedures. By November, we had a slate, which was presented to the Parish Council for approval. They approved, and the slate was formalized. Matt thanked our Nominating Committee, our slate, and the Parish who participated in our online voting process.

Following Matt's presentation, Patrick thanked the Nominating Committee for their work, time, meetings, and preparation in bringing this slate forward. He also thanked our retiring PC members, Matt Larsen and Bob Schroeder. Per our Bylaws, we voted electronically, except for 64 paper ballots mailed to homes or cast in person at our offices, accommodating those who cannot vote online. The Parish Council slate was elected with 330 votes (99%). Thank you again to the Nominating Committee and to all of you who participated in this process.

We had a video presentation from our Treasurer, Larry Miller, and Parish Controller, Kim Dekker highlighting budget items (last year's report and this year's budget are available online). They shared pictures with celebrations of what we could accomplish this year thanks to the generosity of our church family. Some highlights included baptizing 28 new members, Alpha, two VBS sessions, multiple Student Life events, adult education classes, and many mission partners.

Then, Tom Horner gave us an update on the Endowment Trust Board. He also thanked everyone for their generosity as the Bring Life to Others campaign closed. Our consultants told us that if we received 90% of the pledge amount, we should consider the campaign very successful. We received 96%. Tom then gave a shout-out to the current board members for all of their hard work and wisdom: Tom Berger, the current Treasurer; Alicia Chidsey, our Secretary; April Anderson, Matt Larsen, Martha Sabin, and Brian Schwermann. These trustees serve a 3-year term and may serve two consecutive terms. For the current year, 2023, two people had completed their first term and were willing to stand for re-election for an additional 3-year term: April Anderson and Alicia Chidsey. They were both re-elected by an overwhelming majority. We are grateful for their excellent and continued service.

Trish then shared that every year, our staff and clergy sit through classes and fill out examinations so we can receive certification from our Diocese as a "C4SO Safe Church." We received our Safe Church Certification on Sept 6th. If anyone has questions, they were invited to contact Trish directly.

Trish moved on to Thank You's for people who are not part of the staff but give so much of their time at the church She thanked Scott Dory, Tom Deddens, Ned Rychel, Jerry and Martha Sabin, and Tom and Jana Riddle. And a special thank you to the Altar Guild at Overland Park and Mission and the Garden Team in Overland Park.

Then, Amanda led us in prayer as we remembered members of our church family who had died this year.

Dennis Albright Bob Allison Wanda Brandt Mike Gerrity Beth Horner Liz Grogger Norm Lake Wesley and Dianna Miller John Norris Sr. Judy Neis Hal Rouse Jim Selby Jeanne Shopen David Zollars

Patrick closed the meeting by thanking everyone for their support and generosity in 2022. He prayed a closing prayer and then asked for a motion to close the meeting. Jerry Sabin motioned the meeting to conclude at 8:05 p.m., and Emily Duensing seconded. All were in favor, and our meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Tricia Wolf, Clerk